Paid Advertisement
Alternate Service Schedules
First Published - 03/19/2020 - 11:56AM
  • Metra is launching a new $10 All-Day Pass on June 1 and strongly encouraging customers to buy it in the Ventra app, giving them a “Touch Less, Pay Less” option to ride its trains safely and affordably. Click here for details.
  • Most Metra lines operating weekend service (except the Metra Electric) have temporarily changed to Sunday schedules for both Saturday and Sunday service. Saturday service on Metra’s SouthWest Service Line is suspended until further notice. The Metra Electric Line will continue to operate Saturday schedules on Saturdays and Sunday schedules on Sunday.
  • On weekdays, Metra is operating an alternate weekday schedule until further notice to adjust for the reduced number of riders due to school closures, work-from-home mandates and other consequences of the coronavirus pandemic. Those schedules have been adjusted for some lines, including the North Central Service, Heritage Corridor and SouthWest Service. A new schedule with additional weekday service began on the Metra Electric Line on May 18.
  • Per Gov Pritzker’s Executive Order, please wear a face covering while riding the train. Customers are required to wear a mask or face covering in public places when a six-foot social distance cannot be maintained. Help us keep everyone safe from COVID-19.
  • Please use the Ventra app to purchase tickets. The app can be downloaded free from the App Store or Google Play.


Last Updated - 05/20/2020 - 1:10PM

2010 - 2011 Winners

Thank you to everyone who participated in the Fifth Annual Metra Safety Poster Contest and the Second Annual Metra Safety Essay Contest.
Congratulations to the 2010-2011 Contest Winners:

1st Place Poster

Kindergarten — Ye Bin Park, The Art School in Glenview, Glenview
1st Grade — Emily Wang, Holmes Primary School, Clarendon Hills
2nd Grade — Adrien Mehra, White Eagle Elementary School, Naperville
3rd Grade — Giselle Garcia, Joseph E. Gary Elementary School, Chicago
4th Grade — Sam Cangialosi, St. Maria Goretti School, Schiller Park
5th Grade — Jasmine Meza, Winnebago Elementary School, Bloomingdale
6th Grade — Maggie Caplice, McClure Junior High School, Western Springs
7th Grade — Madison Kasbaum, Hickory Creek Middle School, Frankfort
8th Grade — Alexis Zwerenz, Kimball Middle School, Elgin
9th Grade — Benito Galvez, Woodstock High School, Woddstock
10th Grade — Danny Caplice, Lyons Township High School, Western Springs
11th Grade — Youna Jang, James B. Conant High School, Hoffman Estates
12th Grade — Grant Parry, Carry Grove High School, Cary

2nd Place Poster

Kindergarten — Samantha Chen, Copeland Manor School, Libertyville
1st Grade — Aliza Olivares, Richard E. Byrd Elementary School, Burbank
2nd Grade — Jeremy Krause, Robert Crown Elementary School, Wauconda
3rd Grade — Alec Renwick, Wegner Elementary School, West Chicago
4th Grade — Michael Ibarra, Nathanael Green Elementary School, Chicago
5th Grade — Ally Vonderheide, Millennium Elementary School, Tinley Park
6th Grade — Anna Lipkind, The Art School in Glenview, Glenview
7th Grade — Matt Stockmal, Clarendon Hills Middle School, Clarendon Hills
8th Grade — Molly Miklosz, McClure Junior High School, Western Springs
9th Grade — Fred Mohr, III, Victor J. Andrew High School, Tinley Park
10th Grade — Kristen Chapman, Cary-Grove High School, Cary
11th Grade — Chelsie Tamms, Cary-Grove High School, Cary
12th Grade — Brittany Ippolito, Gallery 37: Advanced Arts Education Progrtam, Chicago

3rd Place Poster

Kindergarten — Anika Paranjape, White Eagle Elementary School, Naperville
1st Grade — Trinitiy Contreras, Robert Crown Elementary School, Chicago
2nd Grade — Selena Gonzalez, Norman Bridge Elementary School, Chicago
3rd Grade — Caitlin Nelligan, Chelsea Intermediate School, Frankfort
4th Grade — Jorge Casas-Melchor, Richard E. Byrd Elementary School, Burbank
5th Grade — Alecia Corey, Cumberland Elementary School, Des Plains
6th Grade — Toni DiPrima, Lincoln Middle School, Mount Prospect
7th Grade — Maria Guadalupe Garcia, Elk Grove Junior High School, Elk Grove Village
8th Grade — Kelsey Hucker, Antioch Upper Grade School, Antioch
9th Grade — Joshua Andrew Moy, Deerfield High School, Deerfield
10th Grade — Wyatt May, Cary-Grove High School, Cary
11th Grade — Lexi Hurley, Plainfield East High School
12th Grade — Brionne Bell, McHenry West High School, McHenry

"People's Choice Award" Winner

Adrien Mehra, White Eagle Elementary School, Naperville, 2nd Grade


K-4 Division — Emily Wisinski, Mokena Intermediate School, Mokena, 4th Grade
5-8 Division — Zach Erickson. Kimball Middle School, Elgin, 8th Grade
9-12 Division — Audrey Collard, Crystal Lake South High School, Crystal Lake, 9th Grade

Top Participating School

Grand Prarie Elementary School, Frankfort

Paid Advertisement